My next steps

Hi

I’ve been quiet again, I know. Apologies.  I have been trying to work out my next steps and now that I have them I would love to share my journey with you all.

I have written in the past about how impossible it is for the average writer to live off their earnings (from writing).  At the end of last year, with my youngest in Reception, and slim prospects of being able to write a sequel to The Weight of Souls, I decided that something had to change; either I had to get a full time job or I had to find a way of making some money out of doing what I love – writing.

My first step was to get my WIPs finished.  I now had two books ready to go out to publishers – Wavefunction and Windrunner’s Daughter.

My second step was to work on getting a new book deal – this time for more than one book.

Phoenix Rising was a departure from my usual female-led dark paranormal thriller.  An adventure on the high-seas, it was set in a post-apocalyptic world drowning in the waste or ‘junk’ of previous generations but otherwise suffering from a lack of resources … and it had a male protagonist. Or, in other words, was aimed primarily at teenaged boys.

Phoenix Rising comes out on June 1st 2015 and the sequel a year later.

I now am in the unique position (for me) of having to write a complete novel to a deadline.  I’ll keep you updated with how it all goes.

And of course I now have both Wavefunction and Windrunner in the background, in the hope that someone wants to bring these stories to the world.

This year I intend to work as never before.  I already have several school visits, festivals and events lined up.  I want to make a career out of doing what I love, I want to write the best book possible for Stripes and I want to be able to carry on doing this for a long time.

I hope you’re with me!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment