Big News!

I’m thrilled to be able to finally tell you my big news. I’ve been sitting on it for what feels like forever, but I can shout it from the rooftops now.

Being a debut novelist with a one book deal is a roller-coaster. It is both wonderful (my life’s ambition to be a writer has been fulfilled) and terrifying. Why terrifying? Well, there is the inevitable fear that no-one will like the book. Then when that has been alleviated, by good reviews and even an award, the next fear hits. Will I ever get a second book deal?
It seems churlish to give voice to your fear, especially when you are surrounded by talented authors who have yet to hook their first deal, but for a second deal there is increased pressure. ‘When is your next book coming out?’ seems to be all you hear. And how gut-wrenchingly embarrassing to have to say you don’t know.
You worry that if there is too great a gap between publication dates you will lose your momentum and the people who liked your first book will forget who you are.
As you write your second book and start the whole sales process again the fear grows – have you had your chance and missed it? Was that actually your whole career – been and gone in a flash?
I’ve been struggling with this over the last year, but finally, for all you lovely, interested people who have been asking me that question ‘when is your next book coming out?’ I can give you an answer.

My next book is coming out in October 2013. I actually received the good news myself last month, but had to keep it under wraps until my new publisher gave me the go-ahead.
Yes, you read that right – my new publisher.
Angel’s Fury was published by the wonderful Egmont, but with a new book, came a new agent and a new publisher – The Weight of Souls will be housed with Strange Chemistry, the new teen imprint of Angry Robot Books.
I’m so excited to be moving to Strange Chemistry with my new book, I have read a couple of the other YA novels they publish and feel as if I and my work will fit in really well there. Strange Chemistry has a family feel and I am thrilled to become a member of the family.
If any of you have been looking at my website over the last year or so, you may be familiar with The Weight of Souls under it’s working title The Society. It is about a teenager who must avenge the death of any ghost that touches her and who discovers the truth about her family’s frightening curse while avenging the death of a classmate she cannot stand – or at least that’s how her feelings start out.
I’m so happy to be able to say I know when my next book is coming out and I can’t wait to share Taylor’s story with you next year.

    • Jane McLoughlin
    • September 13th, 2012

    So delighted with your news, Bryony! Congratulations.

    • V. Kathryn Evans
    • September 13th, 2012

    Delighted to hear this Bryony – very well deserved!

    • Thanks Kathryn! I’m relived and happy and can’t wait for publication. Another party to prepare πŸ™‚

  1. Hi! I just came across you because of Angry Robot/Strange Chemistry, and I wanted to say congratulations!

  2. Brilliant news, will be looking forward to that over the next 12 months!

    • Thanks all, I can’t wait to see it published … even though I have to πŸ˜‰

    • Ros McCarthy
    • September 19th, 2012

    Congratulations niece dear! See you soon, love Ros

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

