Reviews

Today I’m going to blog about the great books I’ve read in the past year.

Well, you know how much I love Kathleen Duey, so I probably don’t need to go into that again.  Needless to say, you should all read her books if you want an amazing literary experience.

I’ve been reading quite a bit of YA literature this past year, there’s just so much out there now and it’s so great.  So here are my personal picks of 2010.

Candy Gourlay – Tall Story.  Shortlisted for the Waterstones book prize, so I know I’m not the only one who loved it.  Contains a dash of magic inside a contemporary situation and reminded me a lot of Louis de Bernieres, but for kids.  In a recent review, it was likened to Holes and I agree with that as well.  It’s lovely.

Jon Mayhew – Mortlock.  My most recent read.  In fact I just finished it, to find that it too, had been shortlisted for the Waterstones book prize!  Clearly my reading tastes are extraordinarily good.  It’s dark, gothic and so on, but also strangely life-affirming in it’s depiction of a family that ultimately gets reunited (sort of!).  I loved the characters, the setting, even the ghuls.  So worth a read.

Sarwat Chadda – Dark Goddess.  Book two in the Knight’s Templar series.  It’s a great book and follows on from The Devil’s Kiss, which I really loved and which definitely influenced Angel’s Fury.  Apart from all the action, there is some particularly stunning scene setting (obviously Sarwat has been travelling and writes what he knows) and his denouments are wonderful.  Always a twist which makes you gasp.

Jonathan Stroud – Bartimaeus and the Ring of Solomon.  I love the Bartimaeus books.  He is the best anti-hero I’ve found in ages.  Stroud uses footers for comical asides (a bit like Pratchett), his books are fast and full of action and Bartimaeus is comical, endearing and irreverant.  If I could summon a demon it would be him!

Suzanne Collins – Hunger Games Trilogy.  Brilliant love triangle, scary post-apocalyptic vision, engaging characters, heart-breaking conclusion.

LA Weatherley – Angel.  ‘The only good angel is a dead angel.’  Initially picked it up for obvious reasons.  Can’t wait for the sequel.  There are some lovely moments where you feel that everything is hopeless for the characters.  Weatherley writes despairing situations very, very well.

I obviously read a lot more this year (I’m a reading machine!), but these books are the ones that have stuck with me.  I hope you will read a few of them yourself.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

